Through the perspective of a publisher or an affiliate member:
Affiliate Marketing is the way through which one can do a earning on the commission basis, by becoming an affiliate member to a particular people’s (or company’s) products and driving others to their company’s website or products and hence generating leads or sales for the same and getting commissioned with a certain amount of fee for each sale.
Typically, affiliate providing companies uses one of these affiliate program commission payment models:
Cost Per Sale or Cost Per Acquistion(CPA)
Visitors are referred by the Affiliate purchases goods and services from the Merchant.
Cost Per Lead (CPL)
Visitors referred by the Affiliate completes a form it may be a survey form or any data collecting related form ,on the Merchants web site.
Cost Per Click (CPC)
Visitors driven by the Affiliates web site clicks on a Merchant’s banner and visits the Merchant’s web site.
Cost Per Impression(M ->1000, roman number )(CPM)
Visitors’ impressions are counted on one particular page, posts and archives page of the website in the cluster of 1000 impressions, it is also known as cost per thousand impressions. Lets assume a publisher charge $0.26 CPM, i.e the Advertisers or the Merchants are adhere to pay $0.26 for every 1,000 impressions of its ads.